Detox Bath – Cold, Allergy & Sinus

North Carolina is known for experiencing all four seasons to the extreme all within just a week. One day it’ll be sunny and 70, another day it’ll be rainy and 50, then you’ll have your windy and 40 degree days, not leaving out the 28 snow, sleet, and ice days. It’s no wonder so many of us stay sick with colds, allergies, sinusitis, for what seems like forever.

For the past two days I’ve been battling a headache, drainage, sore throat, and coughing. Just not feeling so great. During my lunch break, I gave a detox bath a try and so glad I did!

Ingredients:

  • Epsom salt (2 cups)
  • Baking soda (1 cup)
  • Essential Oils (I prefer Young Living because of the seed to seal process)
    • Thieves (4 drops)
    • Peppermint (3 drops)
    • Frankincense (3 drops)
    • Lavender (2 drops)
    • Lemon (2 drops)

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients under the faucet in your tub starting with the epsom salt, baking soda, and then the essential oils. I have read that some detox baths also use a carrier oil but for mine, I did not.
  2. Fill the tub with water as hot as your body can stand it.
  3. Soak for 20-40 minutes completely immersing yourself under the water. For those with a standard sized tub, you might have to “flip over” to allow your entire body to be immersed during the detox bath. I spent 15 minutes on both sides. You WILL sweat, that’s a good thing!
  4. Drain the tub and rinse off in cold water. This step is very important because once you’ve finished your detox bath, your pores are open. Rinsing off in cold water helps to not only close your pours but it rinses off the salt so that it doesn’t remain on your skin and potentially dry it out.
  5. Drink a full glass of water. After your detox bath, you might feel light headed, dizzy, and can be dehydrated. Refueling yourself with a glass of water will help.

My experience was wonderful. Literally, immediately after I rinsed off I felt a lot better. Granted, not entirely or completed over the crud but I can definitely tell a big difference than before I gave the detox bath a try. I sweated, a lot (hence the red faced sweaty picture below). There are many different detox bath recipes depending on what you’re wanting to benefit from it. If you’ve given detox baths a try, I’d love for you to share your experience in the comments below.

Happy detoxing!
Hollie

3 thoughts on “Detox Bath – Cold, Allergy & Sinus

    1. Thank you! I’m so glad to hear you’re a fan. I’ll have some new posts coming soon. In the meantime, take some time to review the ones already posted. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

